Volvo XC40 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, noob here. Thinking about jumping from my 2nd v60 lease to a XC40 Recharge.

The whole "which charger works with which car and slow/rapid this and that" discussion is a pain. I've already spoken to my electrician and he said that he would install a "Level 2 240v 50amp outlet". Is that all I need to charge this thang at home?

And then there's also the charge ports in and around town...how will I know what works? Plug type is obvious? Go there, see, and if not...SOL?

Thanks, and don't go too hard on my charging knowledge!

·
Registered
462 Posts
1- You will be supplied a cable with the car that has an industry standard NEMA 14-50 plug on it. Your electrician is 100% correct that the 50A outlet they would install, plus the cable with the car, is all you need. Chances are likely that 99% of the charging you'll do is at home, overnight, plugged in there.

2- Download the app called PlugShare to your phone. Create an account and enter the year/make/model of your vehicle. In that automatically filters what chargers work for you. This app (or going to their web site, logging in, with the same "vehicle filter") works great and shows you what you are asking.

With that said-- once inside the car, if you use the built in navigation to find a charging station, by default it filters only locations that will work with your car, and even shows slow-vs-fast charging.

·
Registered
'21 XC40 Recharge P8 Sage Green
632 Posts
Everything the previous poster said - but in general the XC40 Recharge is compatible with almost every charging station out there except for proprietary Tesla Supercharger stations.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Everything the previous poster said - but in general the XC40 Recharge is compatible with almost every charging station out there except for proprietary Tesla Supercharger stations.