Volvo XC40 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2021 XC40 Recharge
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had my XC40 Recharge for one month and, like some of you, already went through the minor ordeal of having a defective infotainment head unit replaced during week two. Other than that, things have been generally good with the vehicle.

I hope this isn't a silly question: Since everything electrical in the car draws down the battery, I was wondering if there's any appreciable impact on range by charging one's cell phone while driving. Out of habit, I was charging my phone anytime I drove (regardless of how charged the phone was), but I started to think about how much power this was taking. I'm not an electrician or electrical engineer, so any feedback from better educated forum members would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2015 X1, 2017 BRZ
137 Posts
Doing some rough math, I'd guess a phone today with a large battery is going to be around .015 kWh to fully charge, which is about 00.02% of your car's 78kWh battery.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Yeah I wouldn't be too worried about it. I did some back of the envelop calculations in the other direction (going from kWh for the car battery to mAh of your phone).

A 78 kWH 396 V XC40 Recharge battery holds a charge of about 197,000 mAh.
Your phone probably hold a charge of about 2,000–4,000 mAh.

So my numbers are different from @improvius by a couple orders of magnitude, but are still small enough that I wouldn't fret over it.

I think that charging a phone with a huge capacity battery from 0–100% could take about 1–2% of your car's charge. Measurable but not a huge factor. The pitch of the road and the direction of the wind would dwarf the effect.

·
Registered
2015 X1, 2017 BRZ
137 Posts
Yeah I wouldn't be too worried about it. I did some back of the envelop calculations in the other direction (going from kWh for the car battery to mAh of your phone).