Volvo XC40 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
2022 XC40 Recharge Twin Fusion Red
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I’ve been lurking for a while and read almost every post. We have a 2022 XC40 EV on order here in Australia (apparently it’s recently arrived at the port in Sydney, but due to COVID lockdowns not sure when we will be able to view/test drive and confirm purchase decision).

I’m curious after reading all the posts with problems as to whether most of these issues are occurring on earlier built cars or if the 2022 model year cars will have similar issues. I really love the looks of it and being a life-long Volvo driver I want to love the car. My partner wants a Tesla Model 3 SR+ but I think we’ve agreed to get the Volvo assuming it drives as well as the YouTube reviewers (and you good folks!) say. We are “early adopters” and in fact converted a 1993 Volvo 240 wagon to an EV back in 2011...so we know what the “EV grin” is...I’m sure the XC40 will be a factor of 10 bigger grin than driving our 240 EV. Of course I had hoped for Bursting Blue to match our existing Volvo, but not to be for 2022 so we have settled on Fusion Red. Thanks in advance and happy motoring.

·
Registered
2021 White XC40 Recharge P8
209 Posts
Assuming the 2022 is mechanically is similar to the 2021, I’ve found the P8 to be fun to drive. 402 hp AWD gives a great launch which I find comparable to our daughter’s M3 dual motor, and it eases merge anxiety by responding with instantaneous go. The driver assistance features (other than Pilot Assist steering) are useful. My favorite feature is Pilot Assist cruise control. Despite the glitches and missing tech (Sirius XM, Apple CarPlay, Android Auto, useful smartphone app) I’ve enjoyed my P8.

·
Registered
27 Posts